HACCP Certification Training Map

Why is a food safety training so important and why do some states require it?  The answer is very simple. Every consumer deserves and has the right to be served food that is safe to eat.  Likewise, businesses are more likely to hire food safety trained handlers and are willing to pay higher wages to those trained. Now you can earn your HACCP Certification Training entirely online anytime!

(Click a State for more info)

HACCP Training Map Placeholder
HACCP Training Map

Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | Washington DC | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming

Why is HACCP Training Necessary?
Food safety and sanitation are integral to operating a successful food service. The safety of our food supply is a responsibility shared by consumers, producers, sellers and handlers. The Center for Disease Control (CDC) estimates that because of foodborne illness 76 million people fall ill, 325,000 are hospitalized and 5,000 Americans die annually. Because of these alarming statistics, many states require certification of food managers which may include a food safety exam.

Our HACCP Training is available online and accredited by the International HACCP Alliance (360 Training).

HACCP Training Online

HACCP (Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point) training is necessary to help prevent issues with food safety before they occur, rather than after an incident has already taken place. By implementing this online training course, food safety employees are able to be fully aware of potential risks with the food they are preparing.

HACCP is an effective way to assure food safety from harvest to consumption. Preventing problems from occurring is the underlying goal of any HACCP system. To meet this goal, seven principles are used in developing HACCP plans. The seven principles are:

  • (1) hazard analysis,
  • (2) critical control point identification,
  • (3) establishment of critical limits,
  • (4) monitoring procedures,
  • (5) corrective actions,
  • (6) record keeping, and
  • (7) verification procedures.

The Hazard Analysis Critical Control Point principles should be standardized to provide uniformity in training and in applying the HACCP system by industry and government. Each food establishment needs to develop their own HACCP system and tailor it to the industry’s individual product, processing and distribution conditions.

In order to assure food safety, properly designed HACCP systems must consider biological, chemical and physical hazards. For a successful HACCP program to be properly implemented, management must be committed to a HACCP approach. A commitment by management will indicate an awareness of the benefits and costs of HACCP and include education and training of employees. Benefits include enhanced assurance of food safety, better use of resources and timely responses to problems.

HACCP-based food safety programs are required for Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI) standards (SQF, BRC, IFS, FSSC22000, etc.) and are the basis for preventive controls as set forth in the Food Safety Modernization Act of 2011 (FSMA).