Food Safety Training State Requirements

Below are the state-specific Food Safety Handler and Certified Food Safety Manager regulatory requirements.

Most state licensed food establishments require a manager or operator to be certified by an exam or demonstrate knowledge in food safety rules and procedures.

Some states (Alaska, Arizona, California, Florida, Illinois, Oregon, Texas, Utah, and Washington) and some local jurisdictions (check with your local health authority) require that Food Handlers take a food safety training course from an ANSI-accredited organization.

For some states or local jurisdictions, food handler re-training and manager re-certification is required more frequently than the normal time. Always check with your local regulatory authority for specific details.

The information in the table below is just a guide and believed to be accurate at the time provided. No warranty of accuracy is given. Please check with your local health department or regulatory body within your jurisdiction for the most current information.

Table: Food Safety State Requirements


  • Certification Exam: State requires mandatory Food Manager Certification Exam.
  • Demonstrate Knowledge: A demonstration of food safety knowledge is required by a food manager. A Certification Exam is the best way to demonstrate that knowledge.
  • County Requirements: There are certain counties that have specific requirements.
  • Training Certificate: State requires mandatory Food Handler Training certificate/card.
  • Recommended: Food Handler Training is recommended, but not required. Requirements may vary per business.
StateFood Handler RequirementsFood Manager Requirements
AlabamaCounty RequirementsCertification Exam
AlaskaTraining CertificateCertification Exam
ArizonaCounty RequirementsCounty Requirements
ArkansasRecommendedDemonstrate Knowledge
CaliforniaTraining CertificateCertification Exam
ColoradoRecommendedDemonstrate Knowledge
ConnecticutRecommendedCertification Exam
DelawareRecommendedCertification Exam
FloridaTraining CertificateCertification Exam
GeorgiaRecommendedCertification Exam
HawaiiRecommendedDemonstrate Knowledge
IdahoRecommendedCertification Exam
IllinoisTraining CertificateCertification Exam
IndianaRecommendedCertification Exam
IowaRecommendedCertification Exam
KansasCounty RequirementsDemonstrate Knowledge
KentuckyCounty RequirementsCounty Requirements
LouisianaRecommendedCertification Exam
MaineRecommendedCertification Exam
MarylandRecommendedCounty Requirements
MassachusettsRecommendedCertification Exam
MichiganRecommendedCertification Exam
MinnesotaRecommendedCertification Exam
MississippiRecommendedCertification Exam
MissouriCounty RequirementsCounty Requirements
MontanaCounty RequirementsCertification Exam
NebraskaCounty RequirementsCounty Requirements
NevadaCounty RequirementsCounty Requirements
New HampshireRecommendedCounty Requirements
New JerseyCounty RequirementsCertification Exam
New MexicoCounty RequirementsCertification Exam
New YorkCounty RequirementsCounty Requirements
North CarolinaRecommendedCertification Exam
North DakotaRecommendedDemonstrate Knowledge
OhioRecommendedCertification Exam
OklahomaCounty RequirementsCounty Requirements
OregonTraining CertificateDemonstrate Knowledge
PennsylvaniaRecommendedCertification Exam – HACCP
Rhode IslandRecommendedCertification Exam
South CarolinaRecommendedCertification Exam
South DakotaRecommendedCertification Exam
TennesseeRecommendedCounty Requirements
TexasTraining CertificateCertification Exam
UtahTraining CertificateCertification Exam
VermontRecommendedDemonstrate Knowledge
VirginiaCounty RequirementsCertification Exam
WashingtonTraining CertificateCertification Exam
Washington DCTraining CertificateCertification Exam
West VirginiaCounty RequirementsCounty Requirements
WisconsinRecommendedCertification Exam
WyomingRecommendedCounty Requirements